Hon. Deepak Obhrai joins with Legion Branch 275 to honour Royal Canadian Legion Volunteers

Deepak Obhrai speaks during the Conservative Party French language leadership debate, Tuesday, January 17, 2017 in Quebec City. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jacques Boissinot

(Calgary)The Honorable Deepak Obhrai, PC, Member of Parliament for Calgary Forest Lawn and the Forest Lawn Branch 275 Legion will be hosting an Honours and Awards Ceremony and Dinner, to honour Royal Canadian Legion volunteers.

Date: Saturday May 18th, 2019

Award Presentation: 6:30 P.M.

Venue: Branch 275 Forest Lawn Legion, 755 40 St SE, Calgary, AB. T2A 5G3

At the event, 55 people and organizations from the Calgary and Edmonton areas will be receiving awards. The awards range from the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers, RCL 50 Year Medal, and RCL Branch Service Medals.

Deepak Obhrai campaigns with Sonya Savage on her first run for political office as candidate for Alberta UCP for Calgary Northwest.

In addition, Hon. Deepak Obhrai, MP for Calgary Forest Lawn will be awarded the Royal Canadian Legion 90th Anniversary Medal, in recognition of his years of service to the Branch and its members.

Thomas Rockburn, C.D., World War II, Korean War, UN and NATO veteran, will be awarded the Canadian  Volunteer Peacekeeping Medal, RCL 50 Year Medal, 55 Year Bar and the Branch Service Medal.

David Ingram and Howard Johnson, both of Calgary, will be receiving the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers and the RCL Branch Service