Indian-origin politicians win big in UK polls

新华社照片,伦敦,2019年7月25日 (国际)(1)鲍里斯·约翰逊召开首次内阁会议 7月25日,在英国伦敦,英国内政大臣普丽蒂·帕特尔(之前辞职的国际贸易大臣)在参加完内阁会议后离开首相府。 当日,英国首相鲍里斯·约翰逊召开首次内阁会议。 新华社发(阿尔贝托·佩扎利摄)(伦敦分社韩岩,七月二十五日审) BRITAIN-LONDON-BORIS JOHNSON-CABINET MEETING
(190725) -- LONDON, July 25, 2019 (Xinhua) -- Britain’s Home Secretary Priti Patel leaves 10 Downing Street after attending a cabinet meeting in London, Britain, on July 25, 2019. (Xinhua/Alberto Pezzali)

London:  Indian-origin politicians, from both the ruling Conservative and the opposition Labour parties, have won big in the UK general election.

The Indian-origin UK Home Secretary Priti Patel was re-elected from her Witham constituency.

“Thank you to voters in the Witham constituency for re-electing me as your Member of Parliament. I will continue to be your strong voice, standing up for all communities across the entire constituency,” Patel tweeted on Friday.

Her victory means that the ruling Conservative Party, which won Thursday’s election by an overall majority, have held onto the seat they gained when it was first created in 2010, Essex Live reported.

Patel received 32,876 votes, giving the party a vote share of 66.6 per cent over the Labour which came second.

The South West Hertfordshire constituency has voted for Gagan Mohindra of the Conservative Party as its MP, reports the Hertfordshire Mercury newspaper reported on Friday.

Mohindra received 30,327 votes, giving the party, that has held the seat since 2005, 49.6 per cent of the vote share.

Meanwhile, Goan-origin Conservative MP Claire Coutinho won from the East Surrey seat with a majority of 24,040.

After the results were out, Coutinho tweeted on Friday morning: “Truly honoured to be the East Surrey candidate for @Conservatives. Time to #GetBrexitDone and get on with investing in our schools, hospitals and police to keep our streets safe.”

Although the Labour earned its worst results since 1935, some of the party’s Indian-origin MP’s managed to retain their seats.

Preet Kaur Gill, who made history in the 2017 election as the first British Sikh female MP, was re-elected from her Edgbaston constituency. She won 21,217 votes.

Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi, the first turban-wearing Sikh MP, said that he was “immensly grateful” after retaining his seat in the Berkshire constituency by securing 29,421 seats.

Virendra Sharma also managed to retain his Ealing Southall seat which he had held since 2007.