Nova Scotia Tower Named 100th Heritage Lighthouse of Canada

Enragée Point Lighthouse, located off of Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia; Photo credit: Department of Fisheries and Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard (CNW Group/Parks Canada)

Our Majestic Lighthouses Are Iconic Symbols Of Marine Communities; 42 Are Managed By Ottawa

OTTAWA: Canada’s heritage places reflect the rich and varied heritage of our nation and provide an opportunity for Canadians to learn more about our diverse history.

The Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, Catherine McKenna, has announced Enragée Point Lighthouse in Nova Scotia as the 100th designated heritage lighthouse in Canada.

Enragée Point Lighthouse is an octagonal, tapered reinforced-concrete tower atop a cliff on Chéticamp Island, guiding mariners into the Northumberland Strait and Chéticamp Harbour.

With this new designation, an astounding 100 lighthouses in eight provinces have now been protected under the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act – and more designations will follow.

They include some of the country’s most architecturally and historically significant lighthouses, including Triple Island in British Columbia, Île du Pot à l’Eau-de-Vie in Quebec, and Cape Spear in Newfoundland and Labrador, and are treasured symbols of our maritime heritage.

This significant milestone is timely as 2019 marks the 100th anniversary of the creation of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

In celebration, Canadians are encouraged to visit Canada’s network of heritage places to learn more about the people, places, and events that have helped shape our country’s history. From lighthouses to battlefields, historic neighbourhoods to cultural landscapes, there is an amazing array of places and stories to discover.

The Government of Canada is working in close collaboration with community groups and other levels of government to facilitate the designation of heritage lighthouses and ensure their protection for the benefit and enjoyment of generations to come.

Catherine McKenna said: “I am very proud to celebrate that 100 lighthouses across Canada are now protected under the Act. This 100th designation is especially fitting as the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada is celebrating its 100th anniversary this year. Canada’s heritage lighthouses are iconic symbols of our communities and have played a crucial role in keeping mariners safe. Our Government is committed to protecting these special places and I encourage all Canadians to take the opportunity to learn more about our rich and diverse history, including our time-honoured maritime traditions.”

• Among the 100 heritage lighthouses, 42 are managed by the federal government and 58 will be managed by new, non-federal owners, including Enragée Point Lighthouse.

• The Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act was established in 2010 to protect lighthouses of significant heritage value owned by the federal government. The Act protects the heritage character of designated lighthouses and requires both federal and non-federal owners to maintain, care for, and manage them.

• Designations under the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act are made by the Minister of Environment and Climate Change on the recommendation of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

• Created in 1919, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada advises the Minister of Environment and Climate Change regarding the national historic significance of places, people, and events that have contributed to Canada’s history.