Tennis ball cricket league ITCL from October 19

Kolkata: Eminent cricketer and cricket administrator Dilip Vengsarkar hands over the prizes during the Annual Sports day of South Point High School at Gitanjali Stadium in Kolkata on Dec 21, 2014. (Photo: IANS)

Mumbai: The cricketing world is all set to witness a revolution in popular cricket as the first league of its kind — Indian Tennis Cricket League (ITCL) — which will be played with a tennis ball, gets underway at the D.Y. Patil stadium here from the October 19.

Stalwarts of the game have already been signed up by the league and more than 30 iconic players will go under the hammer to represent individual teams.

Speaking at the launch, former India cricketer Dilip Vengsarkar said: “Reverse sweep was inspired by watching tennis ball cricket. I was talking to Wasim Akram in Dublin, and their fast bowlers have picked up their skills from tennis ball cricket. The skill set is different and it’s only picking up to become bigger and better. I myself have started my career playing with the tennis ball.”

“I wish the league success and I am sure it’s going to be a huge tournament. I feel there is more entertainment in tennis cricket and D.Y. Patil is a huge stadium, which will help tennis cricket league. I am sure it will be a full house,” he added.

More than 8,000 players have registered themselves for the trials. A total of 128 players would be shortlisted for the bidders of eight team to recruit their squads through an auction to create their best sides consisting of 16 players each.

The league will be played in the 10 over-a-side format, popularly known as T10 cricket, which promises explosion and fireworks on each ball.

Three categories of players will be seen in the league – the iconic players at the helm, the seasoned professionals, and players rising up the ranks in domestic cricket.

Some of the names already associated with the league are Krishna Satpute, Omkar Desai, Sumeet Dekhale and Ajaz Qureshi.